Assistance League Named Nonprofit of the Year

Assistance League® of Temecula Valley was honored as a Nonprofit of the Year at a celebration of California Nonprofits Day at the state Capitol in Sacramento on Wednesday, June 28. Assistance League was selected by State Senator Jeff Stone as an exceptional nonprofit organization in his 28th Senate District.

Assistance League joined nearly 100 other nonprofit leaders from across the state honored at the annual California Nonprofits Day event. Each nonprofit was selected by their local legislator as an exceptional nonprofit organization in the district community. They were formally recognized by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 54, authored by Assemblywoman Monique Limon (D-Santa Barbara), chair of the new Assembly Select Committee on the Nonprofit Sector.

Senator Stone said, “As both a Temecula City Councilman and a Riverside County Supervisor, I have seen firsthand the impact this great group of volunteers has had on the people of Southwest Riverside County,” said Senator Stone. “Through programs like Operation School Bell, which provides school clothes to many youngsters in the region, The Thrift Shop, which raises money for numerous philanthropic programs,  and many other endeavors, the Assistance League has greatly enhanced the lives of thousands of people in our community.”

“Assistance League is honored by this important recognition of our work for our local communities,” said Ginny Wetzel, Assistance League President. “Since 1989, our volunteers have dedicated themselves to serving the people of Southwest Riverside County by providing resources to meet the needs of the growing communities of the region.”

CalNonprofits is a statewide alliance of more than 10,000 organizations, representing and promoting California’s growing nonprofit sector and working to bring the full power of nonprofits to strengthening communities.

Photo Caption:

On behalf of Assistance League members, Leticia Plummer, Past President and Community Ambassador, and Ginny Wetzel, President, accept the Recognition Plaque from Senator Jeff Stone.