Award recipients are chapter members who have been a member for a significant number of years, and have given outstanding “behind the scenes” service. The award is named for the co-founder of Assistance League who was less visible and filled the role of hardworking “behind the scenes” assistant to Anne Banning.

Ada Edwards Laughlin was a graduate of Stanford University (1898) and a pioneer with women’s college basketball. She was active in many Los Angeles organizations but her favorite was Assistance League. She was instrumental in the development of Assistance League as a national organization in 1935.

Past Award Recipients


(Left-Right): Nancy Carter, (2013), Marsha Reid (2018), Jean Cole (2009), Genene Hill (2019), and Yvonne Smith (2010)

Latest Award Recipient

Bobbie Kosnik (2021)

2020:  Lois Cox

2019:  Genene Hill

2018:  Marsha Reid

2013:  Nancy Carter

2010:  Yvonne Smith

2009:  Jean Cole