Assistance League of Northern Virginia has launched a partnership with GotSneakers to collect sneakers to raise funds for our philanthropic programs.  GotSneakers has developed a social enterprise that compensates charitable organizations based on the quantity and condition of the sneakers they collect.  Gently worn and new athletic shoes will be provided to people who would otherwise lack access to affordable footwear.  Sneakers that are unsuitable for that purpose will be recycled.  Everyone can participate simply by donating their sneakers to help Assistance League raise funds for children and families in need in our community.  Donating sneakers will keep them out of landfills and improve the environment.  Win-win-win!!!

We have several volunteers throughout Northern Virginia who are collecting sneakers for our chapter.  If you have sneakers to donate, simply send an email message to the volunteer closest to you, and you’ll receive a reply providing the address of a drop box.  Those areas and the related email addresses are:  Burke:  burke@alnv.org; Chantilly/Fairfax: fairfax.chantilly@alnv.org; Fairfax: Fairfax@alnv.org; Herndon: herndon@alnv.org; Oakton: oakton@alnv.orgOak Hill: oakhill@alnv.org;  and Springfield: springfield@alnv.org.

We are seeking the help of additional individuals and businesses to collect sneakers for our chapter. We’ll provide the collection bags and when filled, the bags can be shipped from FEDEX/UPS, at no cost to you.  If you’d like to help with this campaign, please contact:  Fairfax.chantilly@alnv.org.

Learn more about GotSneakers at:  www.gotsneakers.com.

.

Comments are closed.