Award recipients are chapter members who have been a member for a significant number of years, and have given outstanding “behind the scenes” service. The award is named for the co-founder of Assistance League who was less visible and filled the role of hardworking “behind the scenes” assistant to Anne Banning.

Ada Edwards Laughlin was a graduate of Stanford University (1898) and a pioneer with women’s college basketball. She was active in many Los Angeles organizations but her favorite was Assistance League. She was instrumental in the development of Assistance League as a national organization in 1935.

Previous Recipients

(Left-Right): Anne Wilson (2016-2017), Kathy Prosser (2017-2018) and Claire Collins, seated (2018-2019).

Sylvia Kowal (2016-2017)

Rouby Hardy (2021-2022)

Latest Award Recipient

Our recipient for 2023 was 20-year member, Sue Barnes. Sue has seen many changes during her membership, including the move to our new building with our new thrift shop and our 75th Anniversary. She helped us face and overcome the challenges that Covid presented and has served as our Treasurer 3 separate terms. She is an invaluable member for her important behind-the-scenes work, chapter knowledge and dedication. Congratulations to Sue Barnes for her Ada Edwards Laughlin award.

2022-2023: Sue Barnes

2021-2022: Rouby Hardy

2020-2021: Mary Ellen “Sunny” Wheeler

2018-2019: Claire Collins

2017-2018: Jean Peacock

2017-2018: Kathy Prosser

2016-2017: Pearl Wells

2016-2017: Anne Wilson

2016-2017: Sylvia Kowal

Additional Accolades

50 Years of Service

Mary Ellen “Sunny” Wheeler (pictured above in red) was awarded the Ada Edwards Laughlin award for 2020. Sunny dedicated 50 years of active service to Assistance League Glendale. Sunny served in many capacities over her tenure including regional Council Representative, Vice President of Membership, Education, and Philanthropic Programs plus she held many chair positions. She was also on the Orientation, Standards, Bylaws and Headquarters National committees. Sunny’s long time dedication, love for her community and outstanding behind the scenes service earn her the title of “unsung hero.”