The Quiet Woman Award was established in 1984, to be presented to that member who quietly contributed many hours, in many areas, to the benefit of the chapter and its members.  The recipient of this award will exemplify all that is best in volunteerism – willingness to accept most any assignment, cheerfulness, self-effacement and who serves with compassion and contributes many hours over and above the requirements established by the chapter.


1984   Miriam Nations

1985   Donna Siegel

1986   Liz Gaynor

1987   Peggy Murray

1988   Glee Heikes

1989   Jean Conrady

1990   Julie Jennings              

1991   Sharon Vaplon

1992   Peg Mendel

1993   Suzanne Klein

1994   Carollee Stater

1995   Jackie Nelson

1996   Lorraine Laswell

1997   Myra Lauder

1998   Suzy Moller

1999   June Bergstrom

1999   Jean Russell

2000   Frances Haysley

2001   Helen Baxter

2002   Jackie Nelson

2003   Mary Ann Schuler

2004   JoAla Bell

2004   Kim Bruny

2005   Lil Brandley

2006   Leanne Maher

2007   Carole Booth-Berton

2008   Anne Fowler

2009   Dr. Wally Berton

2010   Donna Filadelfia

2011   Rosanne Smith

2012   Dell Rae Edgin-Henry

2013   Mary Coffelt

2014   Kathie Stoddard

2015   Kathy Bordonaro

2016   Ro Jeffers

2017   Kim Lindsey

2018   Carol Shows

2019   Delia Itanen

2020   Lynn Rastaetter

2021   Linda Elliott

2022  Sandi Maberry

2023 Sandy Gilbert


Glee Heikes – Awarded May 11, 2015

This Assistance League National Award is named for the co-founder of Assistance League, a woman who was less visible, but filled the role of hardworking, behind-the-scenes assistant to the founder, Ann Banning.  It is in the spirit of Ada’s less visible and hardworking “behind-the-scenes” involvement that an Ada Edwards Laughlin Award was created.  It is given to a chapter’s unsung heroine who has been a member for a significant number of years, having given outstanding “behind-the-scenes” service in a relatively inconspicuous way.   We are pleased that one of our members was a recipient of this award.

National Assistance League

Operation School Bell Award

At our Installation Luncheon on May 11th, the Apple Valley Unified School District Family Centers (at the District Office as well as at individual School Sites) were presented with the National Assistance League Operation School Bell Award. Present to accept the award form Operation School Bell Chairman, Sandi Maberry, and our President Kathie Bordonaro were:
Trenae Nelson – AVUSD Superintendent
Mariana Torres -Director of Equity and Access
Aurora Martinez – ESC Family Center Coordinator
Cindy Carasa-Phoenix Academy Family Center Coordinator
Veronica Gonzalez-Phoenix Academy Counselor (Previous FCC)
Zayra Hall-Granite Hills High School Family Center Coordinator
Karina Ramirez-Equity and Access Secretary (Previous FCC at YL)
Perla Rios-Yucca Loma Family Center Coordinator
Jacqueline Tostado-Sandia Academy Family Center Coordinator
Please join us in congratulating them!!